Vasari Corridor
The Vasari Corridor is the raised passage Giorgio Vasari built in 1565 so the Medici could walk from the town hall to their palace across the Arno without setting foot in the street. It is about 750 metres long, it crosses the river on top of the old bridge, and after eight years shut for safety work it is open again on a reserved ticket. This page is about getting in: which ticket exists, what the slot rules are, what the walk is actually like, and when it is worth the money. For the rest of the city, this guide works the same way (see things to do in Florence).
Quick answer What it costs, where you go in, and the one rule that voids the ticket
You cannot walk into the Vasari Corridor off the street. Entry is on a reserved, named slot from inside the gallery on Piazzale degli Uffizi, it runs one way, and it ends in the Boboli Gardens on the other side of the river.
Key takeaways
- The museum sells two ways in: the day ticket at €43 same-day or €47 in advance, which includes gallery entry two hours before your slot, or the Friday evening walk at €20 that skips the museum entirely — both compared here.
- Show up late and the ticket is gone. Be at the Room D19 meeting point five minutes before a day slot, ten minutes before an evening one; the tickets are named and non-refundable, as the visit rules spell out.
- The small-group tour that carries the corridor as an add-on is the one bookable version that cancels free up to 24 hours before, which matters when the official ticket does not refund at all.
Key facts
Opening hours
| Tuesday–Sunday, day visits | 10:15 first group–16:35 last group leaves |
|---|---|
| Fridays, 3 July – 20 November 2026 | 19:00–23:00 (last admission 21:50) |
Closed Mondays, 1 January, 25 December — the same calendar as the gallery it is entered from
Admission
- Adult
- €43 same-day, €47 booked ahead, with gallery entry included (about $50 / $55); Friday evening walk on its own €20 same-day, €24 booked ahead (about $23 / $28)
- Reduced
- €2 for EU citizens aged 18 to 25 with ID (about $2.30)
- Free
- Under 18, any nationality; free-admission days when they do not fall on a Monday, still on reservation and subject to slots
Planning it
- Time needed
- About 35 minutes on the Friday evening walk (official). The museum does not state a length for the day visit
- Book ahead
- Essential — weeks ahead
- Address
- Entrance: Room D19 Meeting Point (Venetian small Chapel), first floor of the gallery on Piazzale degli Uffizi. Exit: through the Boboli Gardens to Piazza Pitti
Two guided visits from the cards on this page that carry the corridor walk, at the prices their operators list. The museum's own day and Friday evening tickets are compared further down this page.
Do you want the corridor with a small group, or explained over three hours?
| Option | Price | Includes | Cancel | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small-group gallery tour, corridor as an optionVisitors who want a small group and the corridor kept as an option | From €48 | Maximum nine people, licensed guide, priority entry, corridor add-on | Free up to 24 hours before | Check Availability |
| Guided gallery and corridor, three hoursPeople who want the corridor explained rather than walked; three hours | From €153 | Guide throughout, both entries, small group | Non-refundable | Check Availability |
The small-group tour keeps the corridor as an option you add at checkout and cancels free up to 24 hours before. The three-hour version is non-refundable, and its corridor option is named.
Guided visits that include the corridor
Four cards, two of which carry the corridor itself. Ratings and 'from' prices are the operators' own figures. The corridor add-on is chosen at checkout, not on this page.
from €48
Uffizi Small Group Tour + Optional Vasari Corridor Access
listed at $55.61
Max-9 Uffizi tour with a licensed guide, with or without the one-way Vasari Corridor walk to Pitti. Museum base cost €29, or €47 with the corridor.
Check Availability
from €153
Florence: Uffizi Gallery with Optional Vasari Corridor Tour
listed at $179.54
Three-hour max-10 Uffizi tour with optional Vasari Corridor access; English or Spanish. Corridor option is non-refundable and nominative.
Check Availability
from €64
Florence: Uffizi Gallery Small-Group Guided Tour with Ticket
listed at $75.13
90-minute small-group Uffizi tour with ticket and headsets; guides in 7 languages. Skip the ticket line, then stay inside on your own after the tour.
Check Availability
from €16
Florence: Uffizi Gallery Reserved Entry Ticket & Audioguide
listed at $18.53
Reserved timed Uffizi ticket with a downloadable audioguide app in 6 languages and unlimited time inside. Nominative ticket — bring matching ID.
Check AvailabilityPrices, ratings and details are the platform's own. Dollar figures are the listed prices. The platform bills in your account's currency.
What the corridor actually is
A private street, one storey up. Once you understand that it was built as infrastructure rather than as a gallery, the odd things about the visit — the one-way route, the small windows, the swerve around a tower — stop being odd.
Built in 1565, in a hurry, for a wedding
Cosimo I de' Medici commissioned Giorgio Vasari to link Palazzo Vecchio, where the government sat, with Palazzo Pitti, where the family lived, across the river. The museum's own page puts the construction in 1565 and the length at about 750 metres; Wikipedia adds that the commission came in 1564 and the work was finished in time for the marriage of Cosimo's son Francesco, which is the sort of deadline that explains why it was built above existing buildings rather than through them.
The route runs out of the government palace, along the top of the gallery block, over the old bridge, past the church of Santa Felicita — where a window let the family hear Mass without entering the church — and down into the Boboli Gardens. At the south-east corner of the bridge it detours around the Torre dei Mannelli on brackets, because the family that owned the tower refused to let it be cut through.
Closed in 2016, open again on a special ticket
The corridor shut in 2016 because it did not meet safety standards: one narrow route, few exits, no way to evacuate a crowd quickly. The restoration dealt with the fire and escape requirements as much as with the fabric, and the museum now describes the corridor as accessible again with a special ticket. Wikipedia dates the reopening to December 2024; the official page gives no month, so treat the date as secondary.
What this means in practice is that the corridor is not a room in the museum you wander into. It is a scheduled, one-way, capacity-controlled walk, and every rule below follows from that.
What hangs inside — and what no longer does
For decades the corridor's draw was the self-portrait collection, and older guidebooks still describe it that way. Those works are not the reason to go now: the museum reorganised the display when it reopened and its own pages do not publish a room-by-room list of what is currently hung. We are not going to invent one. If a specific painting is the reason you want the ticket, check the museum's news page for the current display before you book.
What is certain is the architecture and the windows. The walk is long, low and narrow, the light comes in from the river side, and the stretch above the bridge — small square openings looking straight down the Arno — is the part everybody photographs.
The visit: in at Room D19, out at the Boboli gate
The corridor is entered from inside the gallery, on the first floor, at the Room D19 Meeting Point — the museum calls it the Venetian small Chapel. It is not signposted from the street and there is no separate street door, which is the single most common reason people miss their slot.
With a day ticket, your gallery entry is timed two hours before the corridor slot. That is deliberate: the museum expects you to be inside already. Be at the meeting point five minutes before the time printed on the ticket, because the official wording is blunt — failing to show up on time entails the loss of the right to enter, and the ticket does not refund. On a Friday evening the margin is ten minutes rather than five.
The walk is one way. You do not come back out into the gallery: the corridor descends and releases you into the Boboli Gardens, and from there you walk out to Piazza Pitti. If you left a coat in the cloakroom on the far side of the river, retrieve it before you go in. Day groups start at 10:15 and the last group of the day leaves at 16:35, so a 16:00 arrival at the ticket desk is already too late.
The museum states neither a minimum age nor a group size for the day visit, and it does not publish how long the day walk takes. The one duration on record is the Friday evening version at about 35 minutes; a day walk with a guide setting the pace is likely to run longer, but nobody official says so.
- Entrance: Room D19 Meeting Point, first floor of the gallery — not from the street
- Be there five minutes early by day, ten minutes early on Friday evenings, or you lose the slot
- Tickets are named, personal, non-transferable and non-refundable
- One way only: you exit through the Boboli Gardens to Piazza Pitti
- Day slots run 10:15 to a last departure at 16:35, Tuesday to Sunday
Friday evenings: the corridor on its own, until 20 November 2026
From 3 July to 20 November 2026 the corridor opens on Friday evenings from 19:00 to 23:00 with a ticket of its own, and this is the only way to walk it without buying the gallery. It costs €20 on the day or €24 booked ahead (about $23 or $28), against €43 for the day combination, and it takes about 35 minutes. Slots run every twenty minutes from 19:00, with the last admission at 21:50, and each group holds 25 people including any carers and private guides, accompanied by museum staff.
The ticket includes passage through the gallery building to reach the meeting point but does not admit you to any of the galleries — it is the corridor and nothing else. The distance is roughly a kilometre once you add the hundred metres through the Boboli Gardens to the exit. The obvious catch is the date.
After 20 November 2026 the evening opening stops and the corridor comes only with the gallery, on the €43 day ticket or a guided gallery tour with the corridor option, so if your trip falls in the window and a Friday is free, this is the version to take. Which months the evenings run in matters more than usual here.
- 3 July to 20 November 2026, Fridays only, 19:00–23:00
- Slots at 19:00, 19:20, 19:40, 20:00, 20:20, 20:40, 21:00, 21:20 and 21:50
- €20 same-day, €24 booked ahead; €2 reduced for EU citizens aged 18 to 25
- Groups of 25 with museum staff; about 35 minutes; no gallery visit included
Day slot or Friday evening: which ticket
The museum's two routes side by side, with prices, timings and rules taken from uffizi.it and the museum's Friday evening event page. The right answer depends almost entirely on whether you also want the gallery.
| Compare | Day slot | Friday evening |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €43 same-day, €47 ahead (about $50 / $55) | €20 same-day, €24 ahead (about $23 / $28) |
| Gallery included | Yes, entry two hours before the slot | No — passage through the building only |
| When | Tuesday–Sunday, first group 10:15, last out 16:35 | Fridays 19:00–23:00 until 20 November 2026, last admission 21:50 |
| How long | Not stated by the museum | About 35 minutes |
| Best for | A first visit that wants both, on a full museum day | A second visit, or an evening when the museums are shut |
Both tickets are named and non-refundable. Only the guided cards further up this page carry a cancellation window.
Is it worth it? The €18 question
Do the subtraction before you decide. The museum's day ticket with the corridor is €43, about €18 (roughly $21) more than the gallery alone, for a walk of 750 metres, and the honest answer is that it buys an experience rather than a collection: the enclosed passage, the windows over the river, the sensation of crossing the Arno above everybody's heads on a private street.
Take it if you have been in the gallery before and do not need three hours in it; if you are in town on a Friday evening between July and 20 November, when the same walk costs €20 and takes 35 minutes; or if you were already buying the five-day combined pass, where the corridor version costs €58 and spreads across three sites.
Skip it if this is your only day in Florence. The day ticket asks you to be inside the museum two hours before the slot, so the corridor effectively consumes an entire half-day of a schedule that also wants the cathedral square and the David. Skip it too if the self-portraits are the reason you were going, because the display has changed and the museum does not publish what is currently hung. And skip it if refund flexibility matters: the official ticket does not refund at all, which is why the small-group tour with the add-on exists.
For a second visit with a free Friday, the evening walk is the natural fit. For a first visit with a full day to give it, the small-group tour with the corridor option gets the gallery explained and keeps a cancellation window, and the three-hour guided version suits anyone who wants the corridor itself explained. Whichever way the subtraction goes, the rest of your days in the city will run on the same arithmetic, so it is worth browsing the tours in Florence to see what a guided option can fold in before you commit the corridor slot.
Passes, cards and the supplements nobody mentions
The city sightseeing card does not cover the corridor. Cardholders pay a €20 supplement (about $23) per walk, on the same reservation terms as everyone else, so the card is not a way in — what the card does and does not cover is worth reading before you buy either.
The museums' own passes work differently. The five-day combined pass with one corridor walk included is €58 (about $68) and covers the gallery, Palazzo Pitti and the Boboli Gardens as well. The annual pass is €80 for one person or €120 for a family, and it carries a €20 fee for each corridor access rather than including it; on the family version each adult pays that €20 and minors book free. In all cases the corridor still needs a reservation and is still limited to the slots left, so an annual pass buys you a price, not a place.
Reduced and free categories follow the state-museum rules: €2 for EU citizens aged 18 to 25 with ID, free under 18. Free-admission days apply when they do not fall on a Monday, but you still need to reserve and the slots are the same handful as any other day. Steps and the checkout order for all of this sit on the gallery ticket page.
In on one bank, out on the other
Three pins for the three things that matter: where you go in, where the passage crosses the river, and where it lets you out.
Where the walk starts and finishes
Two of these are not optional: you go in through one and come out into the other. Walking times are our estimates from the map.
The gallery on Piazzale degli Uffizi
Your entry is timed two hours before the corridor slot, so plan the rooms rather than drift: what to see and in what order does the routing, and the reserved-entry ticket with audioguide fixes the time at €16 (about $19).
you are inside itPalazzo Pitti
You come out in its gardens. The palace and gardens ticket is €30 (about $35), and the palace closes on Mondays like the corridor, so an afternoon that starts on one bank can finish on the other The Pitti guide has the hours.
at the exitThe old bridge below the windows
Once you have walked it from inside, look at it from underneath. The bridge page covers the goldsmiths, the 1944 story and where to stand for the photograph.
5 min walkQuestions about the corridor
Do I need a ticket for the Vasari Corridor?
Yes, and it must be reserved in advance for a specific slot — there is no walk-up option and no queue to join. The two official versions are the €43 day combination and the €20 Friday evening walk, both compared here. The small-group tour with the corridor option is the alternative if you want a cancellation window.
How long does it take to walk through?
The passage is about 750 metres, or roughly a kilometre once you add the walk out through the gardens. The museum states a duration only for the Friday evening version: about 35 minutes. For the day visit it publishes no figure, and we are not going to guess one — the visit rules cover what is actually stated.
Can I walk it without buying the gallery ticket?
Only on Friday evenings between 3 July and 20 November 2026, when a €20 same-day or €24 advance ticket covers the corridor alone with no museum visit attached. Outside that window the corridor comes only with the gallery: the €43 day combination or a guided gallery tour with the corridor option. The Friday evening section has the slot times.
Where exactly is the entrance?
Inside the gallery, on the first floor, at the Room D19 Meeting Point that the museum labels the Venetian small Chapel. There is no separate street entrance. Be there five minutes before your day slot or ten minutes before an evening one; arriving late forfeits the ticket, and it does not refund. The gallery page has the door numbers for getting into the building itself.
Is it included in the city sightseeing card?
No. Cardholders pay a €20 supplement (about $23) for each walk and still have to reserve a slot, so the card saves nothing here. What the card actually covers is worth checking before you buy it for this.
Can I cancel or change the booking?
The official tickets are named, personal, non-transferable and non-refundable, and a missed slot is simply lost. The only versions with a cancellation window are the guided ones: the small-group tour with the add-on cancels free up to 24 hours before, while the three-hour guided version does not.
Is there a minimum age, and can I come back the way I came?
The museum states no minimum age and no daily group size for day visits, so anyone claiming a figure is inventing it. You cannot return: the route is one way and ends in the Boboli Gardens, which is why anything you left in the cloakroom on the north bank has to be collected before you go in.
Is the walk worth the extra money?
It is about €18 more than the gallery alone, or €20 on its own on a Friday evening. For a second visit, or an evening when the museums are closed, yes. For a single day in Florence, the two-hour museum lead-in makes it expensive in time as well as money — the full argument sets out both sides.
How to fit it into the day
For the day ticket, book the 10:15 corridor slot and an 08:15 museum entry. Two hours is enough for the main floor at a brisk pace, the corridor puts you across the river before noon, and you come out in the Boboli Gardens with the afternoon free on the Oltrarno side. Lunch happens near Piazza Pitti, not back in the centre, because you are not crossing the river again for a while.
For the Friday evening walk, treat it as the last thing of the day: a 20:00 or 20:20 slot after dinner, out through the gardens, and the bridge below on the walk home. The three-day Florence plan swaps its Friday evening for exactly this, and the things to do list shows what else stays open late.
The rest of the city, priced and timed the same way, is covered in our guide to the best things to do in Florence.
Inside the corridor, on video
Three films covering what the museum's own pages do not show: the passage from the inside since it reopened, the route it takes over the river, and how the walk actually feels. Ids copied from our verified list.
The passage, filmed since it reopened
The most recent of the three, walked end to end — useful for seeing the current interior rather than the self-portrait display older guides describe.
Video: RomeWiseWhy a duke needed a private street
A short history of the 1565 commission, the swerve around the Torre dei Mannelli and the window over Santa Felicita.
Video: The Tim TravellerWalking it as a visitor, start to finish
A visitor's run through the booking, the meeting point and the exit into the Boboli Gardens — the sequence this page sets out in writing.
Video: Expat Lifestyle with BaddsThird-party videos, embedded without cookies. Neither the channels nor the videos are connected to this site.
Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure